Caulfield Classic

caulfield classicThe 2017 Caulfield Classic will take place on Saturday 21st October 2017 at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria.

Formerly known the Norman Robinson Stakes, the race was renamed the ‘Caulfield Classic’ and run for the first time in 2014 under its new name.

Robert Smerdon trained galloper Fontein Ruby won the first edition of the Caulfield Classic defeating Crafty and Firehouse Rock.

The race run over 2000 metres under set weight conditions and provides the ideal lead up to the Group 1 AMII Victoria Derby at Flemington in November.

Any three-year-old that can win either the $1,000,000 Group 1 Caulfield Guineas or $500,000 Group 1 Thousand Guineas the previous Saturday, and then take out the $500,000 Caulfield Classic the following week, is eligible for a $500,000 bonus.

2017 Caulfield Classic Day

The 2017 Caulfield Classic takes place on the final day of the Melbourne Racing Club’s three-day spring racing carnival, alongside the club’s feature spring race, the $3,000,000 Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

The 2017 Caulfield Cup Carnival dates are listed below:

  • Caulfield Guineas Day – Saturday 14th October 2017 (Day 1)
  • Blue Sapphire Day – Wednesday 18th October 2017 (Day 2)
  • Caulfield Cup Day – Saturday 21st October 2017 (Day 3)

Visit the Melbourne Racing Club for more information on the 2017 Caulfield Cup Carnival in Melbourne.

2016 Caulfield Classic result

Blake Shinn rode the James Cummings trained colt Good Standing to an all the way victory in the 2016 Caulfield Classic in a time of 2:04.37 for the 2000m distance.

Good Standing led all the way to defeat Mick Price galloper Rocketeer by 0.75 lengths, with Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes trained Inference a further length back in third place.

FP Odds Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Margin
1 $2.90 Good Standing J Cummings B Shinn 57kg
2 $6.00 Rocketeer M Price B Rawiller 57kg 0.75L
3 $6.50 Inference M W & J Hawkes D Dunn 57kg 1.75L
4 $51.00 Beach Life C Maher L Nolen 57kg 2.75L
5 $16.00 Wine Bush C Waller H Bowman 57kg 4.25L
6 $19.00 Odeon M Ellerton & S Zahra C Symons 57kg 4.65L
7 $17.00 Throssell C Maher N Hall 57kg 5.05L
8 $14.00 Kent J O’Shea C Williams 57kg 5.8L
9 $8.00 Highlad M Baker & A Forsman D Oliver 57kg 7.8L
10 $31.00 Wimborne R Laing N Callow 57kg 7.9L
11 $14.00 Waterloo Sunset D B Hayes & T Dabernig R Bayliss 55kg 8.4L
12 $151.00 Positive Carry T Busuttin & N Young Z Purton 57kg 20.4L
13 $151.00 Larrikin Brian McGrath T Berry 57kg 40.4L

Visit the excellent Melbourne spring carnival racing guide at feature race website gor more info on the Melbourne Racing Club’s feature distance race for three-year-olds.